Backing up and Restoring Your Moodle Course

Backing up and Restoring Your Moodle Course

At the beginning of every semester, the Moodle changeover takes place which deletes the courses of the past semester and paves the way for the new ones to be created. It is extremely important to backup your information before the changeover takes place to avoid the loss of any course data. Backing up your information is also important if you are going to be teaching the same course at another time. With this back up file, you can contain all of your hard work in one file, and when the time comes to teach the class again, you can simply upload the file to the new course using Moodle's restore feature. The following videos will show you these two features:

How to do a Full Backup- A full back up will save all of the data from the course including your contributions, student assignments, and course roster.

How to do a Partial Backup- A partial back up will save only what you have contributed to the course as the teacher.

How to do a Course Restore- A course restore will take your backed up course file and restore it to the new course for use.