Skip to Content
- Prev Article 2016 Undergraduate Awards - Next Article

On Friday night, Wagner College held its annual Undergraduate Awards Banquet, recognizing student leadership, professional promise and academic excellence. Congratulations to the 32 student award winners!

Jorge A. Acevedo of Arlington, Va. won the Resident Assistant Award for strong social skills, ability to work with a diverse student population and supervise day-to-day operations in residence halls, and well-rounded programs.

Nicole Aylmer of Arden Heights, Staten Island won the Promising Gerontological Nurse Award for a junior nursing student who demonstrates promise as a gerontological nurse as reflected in evidence-based clinical performance.

Kaitlyn M. Barden of Morganville, N.J. won the Student Government Award for outstanding work, dedication to the student body and exemplary leadership abilities.

Alexandria Brown of Hawthorne, N.J. won the Gertrude Aull Award for the undergraduate who has the greatest potential as a psychologist.

Eric Cedeno of West Hempstead, N.Y. won the L. Willard Knight Memorial Award for a fraternity member with the highest academic average and exemplary leadership performance.

Lisa Condemi of Ridge, N.Y. won the Richard Gaffney Memorial Grant to support student work in the visual arts.

Tyler Cropley of Hillsborough, N.J. won the Wagner College Award in Chemistry for academically excellent work in the study of chemistry.

Sourajit Dey of Fresh Meadows, N.Y. won the Internationalization Action Council Award for a student who has furthered, exemplified or supported the internationalization goals of Wagner College.

Jazmin Diaz of Tigard, Ore. won the Eduardo Chirinos Spanish Award for outstanding work in the study of Spanish language and literature. Diaz also won the Gordon McEwan Endowed Award in Archaeology for students whose studies will include an experiential learning component in the field of archaeology.

Andrew Dillon of Spuyten Duyvil, Bronx won the Diversity Action Council Award for a student who has furthered, exemplified or supported diversity at Wagner College.

Connor Gibbs of Easthampton, Mass. won the Academic Excellence Award in Music.

Kelly Glenn of New Milford, N.J. won the C. Wright Mills Award for a student with outstanding academic potential who embodies the spirit of sociological imagination.

Kirsty Hessing of Powell, Ohio won the Periclean Award for an abiding and active sense of social responsibility and civic concern through academic work or community activities. Hessing also won the Thomas Carroll Award for Environmental Sustainability dedication in leading the campus toward a more environmentally sustainable future.

Kemani D. Howard of Rochester, N.Y. won the Leader on the Horizon Award for a student who shows promise as a leader on campus.

Leslie Lopez of Old Bridge, N.J. won the Academics for Activism Graduate School Fund (English) for a Wagner College English majors with senior standing applying to Ph.D. programs in English and/or Women's/Gender Studies whose scholarship has a focus on issues concerning women, gender and sexuality, and/or marginalized groups.

Emma MacDonald of Hollis, N.H. won the Academic Excellence Award in Sociology.

Timothy Maher of Milford, Conn. won the Biological Sciences Award for demonstrating the highest academic promise in the biological sciences.

Jacqueline Menna of Mount Sinai, N.Y. won the Panhellenic Council Award for exemplary service and leadership to the Panhellenic Council, and for high academic achievement.

Nada Metwally of Tottenville, Staten Island won the Community Health Nursing Award for a nursing student who demonstrates volunteerism, thoughtfulness, caring and patience while promoting the health of individuals, families and groups within the community.

Hadeel Mishal of Shore Acres, Staten Island won the Community Service Award for a student committed to community service through campus organizations. Mishal also won the Verrazano Memorial Prize outstanding academic achievement in the study of history.

Gabriella Morales-Rivera of Newtonville, Mass. won the Education Department Culturally Responsive Award for a student with a strong commitment to being a culturally responsive teacher.

Adam B. O’Brien of Hunlock Creek, Pa. won the Socrates Prize for outstanding thought that has application to human concerns in a community.

Gabryel Oloapu of Auckland, New Zealand won the Class of 2008 Scholarship for a model student involved in various community activities, including their senior class gift committee. Oloapu also won the Gertrude Aull Award for the undergraduate who has the greatest potential as a psychologist.

Stephanie Piscopia of Dyker Heights, Brooklyn won the Robbie & Mary Boody Memorial Award exceptional scholarly work in the study of art.

Dillon Quinn of Chaska, Minn. won the Distinguished Leader Award for superior qualities of cooperation, decision-making and management. Quinn also won the Interfraternity Council Award.

Avika Sagwal of New Delhi, India won the Business Administration Award for the student in the Business Administration Department with the highest GPA.

Alexandra Shworak of Grantham, N.H. won the Margery Mayer and Sigvart J. Steen Award for Excellence in Music for excellence in choir performance.

Victoria Stroud of Ellicott City, Md. won the Modern Languages Award for outstanding work in the study of a modern language.

Adam Thibeault of Hooksett, N.H. won the Wagner College Instrumental Music Award outstanding musical talent and exemplary dedication to the bands of Wagner College.

Aspen Trautz of Lansdale, Pa. won the Robert D. Blomquist Memorial Award in Biology for an outstanding biology student of good moral character.

Anthony Tucker-Bartley of Trenton, N.J. won the Bonner of the Year for a student who exemplifies the spirit of civic engagement and leadership through ongoing community work, democratic engagement, and reflective practice.

Joseph Zurica of Park Slope, Brooklyn won the Wagner College Physician Assistant Award for the highest overall grade point average in the junior class among P.A. students.

Also recognized at Friday night’s award banquet:

Ellen Navarro, director of Wagner’s Center for Intercultural Advancement, won the Adviser Recognition Award.

The Student Professional Association was named Organization of the Year.

Tau Kappa Epsilon won the David M. Delo Award for the fraternity achieving the highest academic average during the year.

Alpha Delta Pi won the Elsie N. Delo Award for the sorority achieving the highest academic average during the year.

Back top