Skip to Content
Nursing program is ‘Center of Excellence’

STATEN ISLAND, N.Y., July 16, 2012 -- The National League for Nursing announced today that Wagner College’s Evelyn L. Spiro School of Nursing has been named a 2012-2016 Center of Excellence in Nursing Education in the category of Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development. The designation will be awarded at the NLN’s annual Education Summit in September.

Each year since 2004, the NLN has invited nursing schools to apply for COE status based on their ability to demonstrate in concrete, measurable terms sustained excellence in faculty development, nursing education research, or student learning and professional development. Schools seeking COE status must also have a proven commitment to continuous quality improvement.

“The NLN relies on its Centers of Excellence in Nursing Education to be standard bearers of excellence, role models whose faculty, deans and staff are available to share expertise, insight, knowledge and experience to lift the entire nursing community to a higher level of achievement,” noted NLN President Judith A. Halstead.

Winning the COE designation is a very high distinction for Wagner College. Only 17 collegiate nursing programs in the entire United States are currently designated as NLN Centers of Excellence.

“This well-earned award highlights Wagner College’s commitment to nursing education and community-based education,” said Professor Paula Tropello, chair of Wagner’s nursing program.

“Never doubt that a small group of nurse educators can change the world,” said Professor Margaret Governo, Wagner’s NLN ambassador. “We are nurse influentials who will continue to inspire our students to make great contributions to this small world in which we live.”

“We work very hard and humbly impart our talents to our students,” added Professor Jane DeFazio. “It is such a great feeling for both the faculty and the students who worked with us to be recognized on such a high level.”

“I couldn’t be more proud of the nurse educators at Wagner College than I am today,” said President Richard Guarasci. “This places the Evelyn L. Spiro School of Nursing in the top tier of collegiate nursing programs.”

“This is confirmation of the excellent work of our nursing faculty,” said Provost Lily McNair. “Congratulations to the Evelyn L. Spiro School of Nursing!”

Founded in 1893, the National League for Nursing is the preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education, with 33,000 individual and 1,200 institutional members in the United States.

Back top