Photo of the women's water polo team, 2017 MAAC Champions.

This year, women’s water polo was the first program in Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference history and in Wagner athletics history to win four consecutive league titles.

Three seniors on the team were part of winning an athletic conference championship every year of their collegiate career, from 2014 to 2017: Gabryel Oloapu, Emily Riddle, and Amanda Sutherland.

The Seahawks won the 2017 MAAC championship handily, too, beating Marist College 11-7, on April 30.

With the victory, the Seahawks earned the league’s automatic bid to the 2017 NCAA Championship. It was their first trip to the tournament since 2007. Their historic season ended with a loss to No. 1-ranked UCLA on May 12.

The Seahawks’ top scorer, Kimberly Watson ’18, made an impressive 102 goals for the season. She was named the MAAC tournament's Most Valuable Player. And she will be back in 2017–18!

Read complete details about the team's victory on the Wagner athletics website.