Biological Sciences Home

Department of Biological Sciences offers the following programs –

  • Bachelor of Science – Biology (declared prior to Fall 2022)
  • Bachelor of Science – General Biology (begins Fall 2022)
  • Bachelor of Science – Biopsychology (with Psychology department)
  • Bachelor of Science – Health Sciences
  • Bachelor of Science – Microbiology (declared prior to Fall 2022)
  • Bachelor of Science – Microbiology & Immunology (begins Fall 2022)
  • Bachelor of Science – Molecular & Cellular Biochemistry (begins Fall 2022)
  • Bachelor of Science – Neuroscience (begins Fall 2022)
  • Bachelor of Arts – Environmental Studies (with Anthropology department)
  • Bachelor/Master of Science – Microbiology 5 year program
  • Master of Science – Microbiology
  • Minor in Biology
  • Minor in Environmental Studies (with Anthropology department)
  • Minor in Microbiology


From left to right standing:
Mrs. Stephanie Rollizo (admin asst), Prof. Linda Raths, Dr. Christopher Corbo, Dr. Horst Onken,
Dr. Donald Stearns, Dr. Katherine Moccia, Dr. Heather Cook (department chair)
(Camera shy: Dr. Susan Briffa, Dr. Nicole LaMassa, Dr. Christopher Marra)

  • Megerle Science Building, 3rd and 4th floors
    Department Chair:  Dr. Heather Cook
    Academic Administrative Assistant:  Room 412; 718-390-3103
  • Fax:  718-420-4172


Program Coordinators:
Coordinator of General Biology – Dr. Donald Stearns
Coordinator of Health Sciences – Dr. Susan Briffa
Coordinator of Microbiology & Immunology – Dr. Katherine Moccia
Coordinator of Molecular & Cellular Biochemistry – Dr. Heather Cook
Coordinator of Neuroscience – Dr. Christopher Marra

Director of the Graduate Program in Microbiology – Dr. Heather Cook

Director of the Senior Learning Community – Dr. Horst Onken



Interested in the combined 5 Year BS/MS Program in Microbiology? Please contact Dr. Heather Cook or visit the program page for more information.