Wagner College Driver Education
This section is full. We will be sharing information about a second section opening late February. Fill out the inquiry form at the bottom of this page to ensure you receive information about this new session.
Temporary changes to Driver Training Education guidelines in response to COVID-19 allow Wagner College to offer the Driver Education program necessary to qualify a teen driver for their MV-285 certificate required to attain a Senior Driver License at 17 years old.
Class will include:
- 24 hours of lecture delivered virtually by an NYS certified instructor
- syllabus and log for 24 hours of parent-supervised* practice driving
- NYS DMV MV-285 certificate to be picked up the week of March 29 – April 2 upon completion of lecture and practice-driving with a score of 65% and above
*Note regarding parent-supervised practice driving: Wagner College Lifelong Learning will provide parents with a syllabus to follow during practice driving. Parents must log hours and rate student’s level of ability in skill areas by completing an online form. Students will be assessed a grade based on parent ratings. Students may NOT complete practice driving in the five boroughs of NYC unless the car being used is equipped with a dual braking system. Parents can drive students to Long Island or north of NYC for permitted drivers to complete supervised practice driving. To review all NYS/NYC restrictions for younger drivers visit NYS DMV Graduated License Law. Students may also be able to practice with an NJ licensed driver and parent/guardian present in New Jersey. For more information on NJ supervised practice driving visit https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/license/initiallicense.htm.
To apply students must:
- Be 16 years old as of the first day of class
- Have their NYS Learner’s Permit
- Complete registration and payment online and provide the following documentation:
- Legible copy of your NYS Permit
- Parent Consent Form
Following enrollment, you will receive directions on how to submit paperwork.
Schedule and Tuition
January 26 – March 18
Tuesdays & Thursdays, 4:30pm – 6pm
Materials: Lecture will be delivered through a combination of live virtual instruction, handouts that will be shared electonically, and videos.
Program Rules & Guidelines
The New York State Education Department requires that you attend 24 hours of classroom lecture and 24 hours of supervised driving (to equal a minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training, + minimum 18 hours of observation of a licensed driver.) A passing grade of 65% in both classroom and driving is required to successfully complete the course. Failure to meet these requirements will result in course failure and denial of your MV-285 Completion Certificate.
To ensure you receive credit for classes, you must use a device with both audio and video capabilities for each class so that the instructor may verify your attendance. Students are expected to actively participate during class and be free from all distractions. Anyone not actively listening/participating or conducting themselves in a manner that is disrespectful or distracting to other students/instructor may be removed from the session at the instructor’s discretion and be required to make-up the session. Students arriving late or signing off early will also be marked absent. Students can not miss more than two class sessions. In the event of absence students must make-up time. Make-ups will be available on Tuesday, March 23 and Thursday, March 25 at a cost of $35 per session.
Parents/guardians are responsible for conducting 16 90-minute driving sessions. A skill checklist will be provided by Wagner College. The parent will submit form logging hours and confirming students have practiced skills outlined in the checklist.
All courses are subject to cancellation by Wagner College. In the event of cancellation by Wagner College students will be notified and refunds will be issued to the method of payment. If a student must cancel, he/she must contact the Department for Lifelong Learning prior to the class beginning to receive a refund. No refunds will be issued once the class has begun.
How to get your Driver’s License – https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/get-driver-license
NYS Graduated License Law – https://dmv.ny.gov/younger-driver/graduated-license-law-and-restrictions-drivers-under-18
NYC Driving Restrictions – https://dmv.ny.gov/younger-driver/i-drive-nyc-five-boroughs-what-are-restrictions
DMV MV-262 Parent Confirmation of Supervised Driving – https://dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv262.pdf
How to scheduled your Road Test – https://dmv.ny.gov/schedule-road-test