Skip to Content
- Prev Article Swimming & Diving: Northeast Conference champs! - Next Article

2014 Swimming & Diving team (LR)For the first time in program history, the Wagner College swimming and diving team has been crowned Northeast Conference Swimming & Diving Champions.

The Seahawks scored 844 team points in the championship tournament, the first team to break the 800 barrier since 2003 and only the fourth team since the first championship in 1999.

The accomplishment comes just one year after the Seahawk squad placed a respectable second at the 2013 Swimming & Diving Championships.

In addition to the overall title, Wagner head coach Colin Shannahan earned Coach of the Year, while freshman Anu Nihipali swept the individual swimmer awards, earning Rookie of the Meet and Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet. This marks the second year the trio of honors have been awarded to Wagner.

The Seahawks proved to be the team to beat throughout the championships, holding a considerable lead over the seven-team field after each night of competition.

Wagner also posted incredible results, event after event, earning the championship titles for the 100-yard backstroke, 200-yard backstroke, 200-yard medley relay, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley, 500-yard freestyle, 1650-yard freestyle, 400-yard medley relay, 400-yard freestyle relay and 800-yard freestyle relay, while also posting a bevy of impressive season-best and personal-best times.

After all was said and done, the Seahawks set 15 school records in 19 events and medaled at least one athlete in 18 events, an incredible accomplishment for any swimming and diving program.

For more about the entire NEC Swimming & Diving Championship Tournament, visit the Wagner Athletics website.


Back top